About the Show

Thursday, October 20, 2016

CMT celebrated an unforgettable year in country music by honoring Carrie Underwood, Chris Stapleton, Florida Georgia Line, Luke Bryan and Thomas Rhett on CMT Artists of the Year. Airing from Nashville's Schermerhorn Symphony Center on Oct. 20, 2016, the 90-minute special brought this year's recipients and their peers together for an evening of performances and festivity, honoring each artist's successes during 2016. Additionally, Shania Twain became the first female recipient of the Artist of a Lifetime award during the show.