Alternative Country
The Simon Pollard Band is a 4 piece country/pop/rock band from Leeds.

"Few events on a sunny Sunday afternoon are as unpredictable as The Simon Pollard Band. This Leeds-based group armed to the teeth with great songs, the haunted beauty of the Yorkshire moors and dales transplanted to the city's embryonic musical Mecca. This year's riveting debut 'The Dark Before Dawn' features songs and stories, filled with vivid imagery, all hung on interesting music frameworks. The roots of a unique sound." - M.A.S. Records

'The Dark Before Dawn' EP is the debut release from Leeds-based alt-country/pop/rock quartet The Simon Pollard Band.

The EP - which was produced by Andy Hawkins (Flogging Molly, Pulled Apart By Horses) and recorded at Cottage Road Studios in Leeds - draws upon a diverse array of influences, such as Ryan Adams, Kings of Leon, Simon & Garfunkel, Steely Dan, Bruce Springsteen and The Who.

'The Dark Before Dawn' EP features 5 songs - 'Lord Have Mercy', 'Puppet Strings', 'Hole Out Of Mine', 'Chasing Light', 'Fall Short' - an irresistible mix of alt-country, pop and rock, with soaring melodies, shimmering guitar, fiddle, and brave, heartfelt vocals.

The EP has received much critical praise:

"Utilising both widescreen rock and country inflictions. The Simon Pollard Band are well geared for some large scale success." - Croon Magazine

"'Lord Have Mercy' pulls out all the good bits from Kings of Leon's 'Youth And Young Manhood' and to be honest reminds you of how good Kings of Leon used to be." - Tim Hoardley, Leeds Music Scene

The band have performed on the BBC Introducing Stage at the Reading & Leeds Festival 2011, and since then they have had some fantastic support slots in Leeds, including NME Award show headliners The Jezabels, Australian singer-songwriter Dan Parsons and one of HMV's Next Big Thing artists for 2012, Jake Moley. They have also featured on Alan Raww's BBC Radio Leeds Show, with songs played on regular rotation as well as performing exclusive live sessions.

The band - which is comprised of Simon Pollard (vocals, guitar), David Robinson (bass), Matt Lee (guitar) and Liam Warner (drums) - is set to promote the EP with a series of live dates and festivals, including the prestigious Bingley festival among others. The band will be also performing at the famous Camden venues, Proud and The Dublin castle on 15th July and the 15th August respectfully. Further details and all show dates can be found by following the below links.

'The Dark Before Dawn' is released on 15th August, and will be available on iTunes and all other major digital retailers. You can currently preview the EP at

For more information: