Country Music Hall of Fame Will Get a Dozen New Members

Waylon Jennings , the late Webb Pierce and the Jordanaires will join the Country Music Hall of Fame Oct. 4 as part of the largest group ever to receive the prestigious honor at one time.

Also scheduled to join during a dinner in their honor in Nashville are three brother duos — The Delmore Brothers, The Everly Brothers and The Louvin Brothers ; three record executives — Don Law, Ken Nelson and Sam Phillips; two artists known both as recording stars and songwriters — Don Gibson and Bill Anderson ; and the comedic/musical duo Homer & Jethro .

The Country Music Association announced the new class on Monday (July 9). Anderson is the 2001 inductee in the Open Category. Phillips is being honored in the Non-Performer Category. The other 10 inductees join the Hall of Fame as part of a special group named on the occasion of the opening of the new Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum. All members of the special group had been nominated at least three times before.

“With the special induction of 10 members along with our regular inductions for 2001, we are able to significantly increase the breadth and range of honorees in the Country Music Hall of Fame,” CMA Executive Director Ed Benson says in a release. “Recognizing their contributions during a special celebration event affords us the time necessary to honor their extraordinary contributions to country music with participation from the entire industry.”

The new inductees will bring membership in the Hall of Fame to 86. The Country Music Hall of Fame was established by the Country Music Association in 1961. The CMA manages and conducts the annual election of members to the Hall of Fame. The Country Music Foundation operates the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum.