Brooks to Get AMA Award of Merit

Garth Brooks will receive the American Music Awards’ 29th award of merit during the ABC telecast Jan. 9. The honor recognizes “outstanding contributions to the musical entertainment of the American public.” Previous winners from the country music world include Johnny Cash, Kenny Rogers, Loretta Lynn, Elvis Presley, Willie Nelson, Merle Haggard and Tammy Wynette. Others who have received the honor include Michael Jackson, Frank Sinatra and Paul McCartney. Brooks will be the subject of a special tribute. Twenty-one other awards will be handed out during the special. 12/10/01