Gibson Will Honor Scotty Moore, Earl Scruggs

Scotty Moore, who played guitar for Elvis Presley, and Earl Scruggs, a bluegrass and banjo pioneer, will accept the Orville H. Gibson Lifetime Achievement Award Feb. 26 at the Knitting Factory in Hollywood. The honors are part of the annual Orville H. Gibson Guitar Awards presented by the Gibson Guitar Corporation. Winners also will be named in 10 categories during an awards luncheon. Nominees for best male country guitarist are Vince Gill, Buddy Miller, Brad Paisley, Marty Stuart, Dan Tyminski and Keith Urban. Nominees for best country guitarist female are Emmylou Harris, Carolyn Dawn Johnson, Emily Robison, Gillian Welch and Lucinda Williams. Willie Nelson is nominated for best male acoustic guitarist, and Lee Roy Parnell is up for best blues guitarist. 02/13/02