Songwriters Will Honor Garth Brooks

Garth Brooks will receive the “Hitmaker Award” from the New York-based National Academy of Popular Music/Songwriters Hall of Fame at its annual awards dinner, June 13 at the Sheraton New York Hotel & Towers. The honor recognizes Brooks’ massive success as a recording artist and concert performer. Last year’s winner was Dionne Warwick. Entering the Songwriters Hall of Fame at the dinner are Ashford & Simpson, Barry Manilow, Michael Jackson, Randy Newman and Sting. Stevie Wonder will receive the Sammy Cahn Lifetime Achievement Award. 04/02/02