Ketchum Leads Opry Plaza Parties

Opry star Hal Ketchum leads a long list of traditional country acts appearing this summer for the Grand Ole Opry’s Opry Plaza Parties in Nashville. Several performers appear from time to time on the Opry, including Asleep at the Wheel , Mandy Barnett , BR549 , Elizabeth Cook, Gail Davies , The Derailers , Mike Ireland, Jim Lauderdale and Old Crow Medicine Show.

Hit songwriters Bruce Robison (“Angry All the Time”), Billy Joe Shaver (“Honky Tonk Heroes”) and Darrell Scott (“It’s a Great Day to Be Alive”) will headline shows as well. Up-and-coming, roots-oriented bands, usually from Nashville (Porter Hall, TN; Saddlesong) or Texas (Hot Club of Cowtown; Jesse Dayton), will open the shows, which are free and open to the public.

Friday shows begin at 6:30 p.m. Saturday shows begin at 5:30 p.m. The following schedule is subject to change. Opening band is listed first:

June 7: Two Tons of Steel; The Derailers
June 8: Porter Hall, TN; Two Tons of Steel

June 14: The Gibson Brothers; Elizabeth Cook
June 15: Saddlesong; Gail Davies

June 21: Mike Barfield & the Hollisters; Asleep at the Wheel
June 22: Mike Barfield & the Hollisters; Wylie & the Wild West

June 28: The Weary Boys; Mandy Barnett
June 29: The Weary Boys; Mike Ireland

July 5: Jason Ringenberg; Old Crow Medicine Show
July 6: TBD; Hal Ketchum

July 12: New Ground; Darrell Scott
July 13: The Domino Kings; Wayne “The Train” Hancock

July 19: Hot Club of Cowtown; BR549
July 20: Robinella & the CCstring Band; Rodney Hayden

July 26: Jesse Dayton; Jim Lauderdale
July 27: Jesse Dayton; Bruce Robison

Aug. 2: Star Room Boys; Dale Watson
Aug. 3: Lonesome Bob; Trent Summar & the New Row Mob

Aug. 9: Eleven Hundred Springs; Billy Joe Shaver
Aug. 10: The Biscuit Boys; Bering Strait

Craig Shelburne has been writing for since 2002. He is also a producer for CMT Edge, Concrete Country and Live @ CMT.