Krauss, McCoury, Skaggs, Loveless Earn IBMA Nods

The list of final nominees has been announced for the 13th annual International Bluegrass Music Association (IBMA) Awards. Hosted by Patty Loveless and Ricky Skaggs , the awards show is set for Oct. 17 in Louisville. Nominees include Alison Krauss & Union Station, the Del McCoury Band and Nickel Creek , Loveless and Skaggs.

Alison Krauss & Union Station’s 12 nods include entertainer of the year, instrumental group, song of the year for “The Lucky One” (written by Robert Lee Castleman) and album of the year for New Favorite (Rounder).

In addition to Krauss’ solo nomination for female vocalist, other members of Union Station are finalists in several categories. Ron Block is nominated for banjo player and gospel recorded performance of the year for his solo album Faraway Land (Rounder). Dan Tyminski is nominated for male vocalist (an award he received last year) and guitar player. Reigning dobro player of the year Jerry Douglas receives a nod again in that category, with Barry Bales nominated for bass player of the year. The band is among several acts sharing an album of the year nomination for Down From The Mountain (Lost Highway).

The Del McCoury Band, the group that possesses the most crystal trophies in the history of the awards, earned 11 nominations. These include entertainer, vocal group, instrumental group and song of the year for their recording of Richard Thompson’s “1952 Vincent Black Lightning,” a track from their album Del and the Boys (Ceili Music). Band members are also listed in other solo categories, including male vocalist (Del McCoury), banjo player (Rob McCoury), bass player (Mike Bub) and mandolin player (Ronnie McCoury). Del and Ronnie make featured appearances on David Parmley & Friends’ What We Leave Behind (Pinecastle), nominated for gospel recorded performance and recorded event of the year.

Skaggs and his band, Kentucky Thunder, received six nominations, including entertainer of the year, instrumental group and album of the year for History of the Future (Skaggs Family Records). A banjo player nomination went to Jim Mills, with longtime Skaggs associate Bobby Hicks nominated for fiddle player. Skaggs is also among the featured artists on Vassar Clements’ Full Circle (OMS Records), nominated for recorded event.

Patty Loveless makes her debut as the show’s co-host and as a finalist with nominations for female vocalist and album of the year for Mountain Soul (Epic). Loveless’ work on Mountain Soul also led to two song of the year nominations — for “The Boys Are Back in Town” (written by Don Humphries, Pat Enright and Stuart Duncan) and “You’ll Never Leave Harlan Alive” (by Darrell Scott).

Reigning instrumental group Nickel Creek is nominated again for that honor. Band member Chris Thile is nominated for mandolin player, an award he won for the first time last year.

Reigning entertainer of the year and female vocalist, Rhonda Vincent and her group, The Rage, landed five nominations. These include entertainer, vocal group, song of the year for “Is the Grass Any Bluer” (written by Cory Batten, Buck Moore and Troy Seals) and album of the year for The Storm Still Rages (Rounder). Vincent received a solo nomination for female vocalist.

Earl Scruggs and Ralph Stanley, IBMA Hall of Honor Members, have albums in the recorded event of the year category –- Earl Scruggs & Friends (MCA) and Clinch Mountain Sweethearts (Rebel).

Those being inducted into the Hall of Honor at the 2002 ceremony are the pioneering New England bluegrass band The Lilly Brothers & Don Stover, and noted collector of old-time, out-of-print records David Freeman.

For a complete list of nominations.