CMA Broadcast Awards Winners Announced

Kenny Chesney spent much of Monday morning (Oct. 7) on the phone to notify the winners of the 2002 CMA Broadcast Awards. KPLX/Dallas was named major market station of the year, with other station of the year honors going to WTQR/Winston-Salem, N.C. (large market), KUZZ/Bakersfield, Calif. (medium market) and WIXY/Champaign, Ill. (small market). In the broadcast personality awards, KYGO/Denver’s Kelly Ford, Jonathan Wilde and Mudflap McGrew of the Kelly and Jonathan With Mudflap show won in the major market category. Other personality winners include WSM/Nashville’s Eddie Stubbs (large market), WIVK/Knoxville’s Andy Ritchie and Alison Randall of the Andy and Alison show (medium market) and KKNU/Eugene, Ore.’s Bill Barrett and Tim Fox (small market). Westwood One’s Lon Helton, host of CMT Country Countdown USA, is this year’s recipient of the CMA’s national broadcast personality award. 10/07/02