IBMA Winners Have Brotherly Connection

The wave from the O Brother, Where Art Thou? soundtrack continued Thursday night (Oct. 17) when the 13th annual International Bluegrass Music Association (IBMA) Awards were presented in Louisville. The O Brother spin-off — Down From the Mountain — won album of the year honors, and a subsequent tour featuring the participants was named bluegrass event of the year.

The IBMA Awards proved to be a big night for the Del McCoury Band , whose members took home three trophies, including their sixth entertainer of the year prize. The group also received a song of the year mention for their recording of Richard Thompson’s “1952 Vincent Black Lightning.” Band member Mike Bub was named bassist of the year.

Several artists featured on the O Brother soundtrack gathered for a concert at Nashville’s Ryman Auditorium in May 2000. That concert was filmed for the documentary, Down From the Mountain, which spawned a successful soundtrack album and a national tour. Dan Tyminski, a member of Alison Krauss & Union Station, scored a second male vocalist win at this year’s IBMA awards. Tyminski found himself in the national spotlight after his O Brother performance of “I Am a Man of Constant Sorrow” became a surprise radio hit.

Patty Loveless and Ricky Skaggs hosted the IBMA Awards show. Here’s the complete list of award winners:

Entertainer of the Year: Del McCoury Band

Male Vocalist: Dan Tyminski

Female Vocalist: Rhonda Vincent

Vocal Group: Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver

Instrumental Group: Ricky Skaggs & Kentucky Thunder

Song of the Year: “1952 Vincent Black Lightning,” Del McCoury Band (artists), Richard Thompson (writer).

Album of the Year: Down From the Mountain, the Fairfield Four, John Hartford , Alison Krauss & Union Station, Dan Tyminski, the Cox Family , Gillian Welch, David Rawlings, the Whites, Chris Thomas King with Colin Linden, and Emmylou Harris (artists). T Bone Burnett (producer), Lost Highway Records.

Instrumental Album: Flame Keeper, Michael Cleveland (artist). Mike Cleveland and Jeff White (producers), Rounder Records.

Recorded Event: Clinch Mountain Sweethearts; Ralph Stanley & Friends (artists), featuring Iris DeMent , Pam Tillis , Patty Mitchell, Gillian Welch, Dolly Parton , Maria Muldaur, Sara Evans , Joan Baez, Kristi Stanley, Gail Davies , Chely Wright , Melba Montgomery , Jeannie Seely , Lucinda Williams and Valerie Smith (artists). Bil VornDick (producer), Rebel Records.

Gospel Recorded Performance: The Journey, Mountain Heart (artist). Tim Austin and Mountain Heart (producers), Doobie Shea Records.

Emerging Artist: The Chapmans

Banjo: Tom Adams

Bass: Mike Bub

Dobro: Jerry Douglas

Fiddle: Michael Cleveland

Guitar: Jim Hurst

Mandolin: Adam Steffey

Hall of Honor: The Lilly Brothers & Don Stover, David Freeman.

IBMA Distinguised Achievement Awards: Janette Carter, Pete Goble, the Lewis Family, Judith McCulloh, Tom Riggs.

Broadcast Personality: Terry Herd, Bluegrass Radio Network/Sirius Satellite Radio.

Bluegrass Event: Down From the Mountain Tour, produced by Immortal Entertainment.

Print Media Personality: David Royko, Chicago Tribune/Bluegrass Unlimited.

Best Liner Notes: Bruce Winkworth (writer). Newport Folk Festival: Best of Bluegrass 1959-66, Various Artists, Vanguard Records.

Best Graphic Design for Recorded Project: Shawn Levesque (designer). Shifting Sands of Time, Wayfaring Strangers (artists), Rounder Records.

Complete IBMA Awards Coverage