Three Songwriters Bound for Hall of Fame

The Nashville Songwriters Foundation will induct three new members into its Hall of Fame during ceremonies at Loews Vanderbilt Plaza on Nov. 3. One inductee will be chosen from each of three categories.

Nominees in the pre-1971 category are Jim Anglin (“Ashes of Love,” “Down South in New Orleans,” “Let Your Conscience Be Your Guide”); Hal Blair (“My Lips Are Sealed,” “Please Help Me I’m Falling,” “Ninety Miles an Hour Down a Dead End Street”); Jan Crutchfield (“Going Going Gone,” “It Turns Me Inside Out,” “Tear Time”); Earl Montgomery (“We’re Gonna Hold On,” “One of These Days,” “What’s Your Mama’s Name”); and Shel Silverstein (“Boy Named Sue,” “Queen of the Silver Dollar,” “The Cover of the Rolling Stone”).

In the 1971-81 division are Dean Dillon (“Best Day,” “Tennessee Whiskey,” “Unwound”); Larry Henley (“Lizzie and the Rain Man,” “The Wind Beneath My Wings,” “Til I Get It Right”); Layng Martine Jr. (“The Greatest Man I Never Knew,” “Rub It In,” “Way Down”); Dennis Morgan (“I Was Country When Country Wasn’t Cool,” “I Wouldn’t Have Missed It For The World,” “Smoky Mountain Rain”) and Thom Schuyler (“16th Avenue,” “Long Line of Love,” “Love Will Turn You Around”).

Contending in the songwriter/artist list are Rodney Crowell (“Til I Gain Control Again,” “Song for the Life,” “Please Remember Me”), Bob Dylan (“Lay, Lady, Lay,” “I’ll Be Your Baby Tonight,” “You Ain’t Goin’ Nowhere”); Freddie Hart (“Easy Loving,” “Loose Talk,” “My Hang Up Is You”); Paul Overstreet (“All the Fun,” “Love Can Build a Bridge,” “On the Other Hand”); and Jerry Reed (“East Bound and Down,” “When You’re Hot You’re Hot,” “U.S. Male”).

Edward Morris is a veteran of country music journalism. He lives in Nashville, Tennessee, and is a frequent contributor to