First Round of Flameworthy Voting Begins

With an initial list of nominees revealed today (Feb. 12), voting is underway at for the Flameworthy 2003 Video Music Awards. With 10 nominees currently listed in 11 separate categories, the first round of voting continues through March 9.

CMT will announce the final five nominees in 10 of the categories on March 11. Voting then resumes at through April 5 to determine the Flameworthy winners in the 10 categories. The one exception — the Flameworthy video of the year — will be voted on by viewers at during the live telecast of the April 7 awards show.

The list of initial nominees includes some of country music’s biggest superstars, but the awards will also acknowledge the early contributions of newer acts. Notably, the Flameworthy breakthrough video of the year will recognize the best video from an artist’s major label debut album. The nominees include Aaron Lines ’ “You Can’t Hide Beautiful,” Blake Shelton ’s “Ol’ Red,” Cross Canadian Ragweed’s “17,” Emerson Drive ’s “Fall Into Me” and Jennifer Hanson’s “Beautiful Goodbye.” The other initial nominees in the category are Joe Nichols ’ “Brokenheartsville,” Kellie Coffey ’s “When You Lie Next to Me,” Pinmonkey ’s “Barbed Wire and Roses,” Steve Azar ’s “Waitin’ on Joe” and Trick Pony ’s “Just What I Do.”

The CMT Flameworthy 2003 Video Music Awards telecast is country’s first and only video awards show — and country’s only fan-voted awards show. The April 7 telecast will feature performances by Shania Twain , Kenny Chesney , Faith Hill , Tim McGraw and many others. Tickets are now on sale for the event at Nashville’s Gaylord Entertainment Center.

Vote now!