Hill, Keith, Twain Fuel Flameworthy Nominations

Faith Hill , Toby Keith and Shania Twain have each received five nominations to emerge as frontrunners at the CMT Flameworthy 2003 Video Music Awards. Deana Carter , Rascal Flatts and Blake Shelton announced the finalists during a Tuesday morning (March 11) press conference at Nashville’s Gaylord Entertainment Center.

In other Flameworthy news, Kid Rock and Sheryl Crow have been added to the list of performers at the April 7 awards show. They will perform their Flameworthy nominated hit, “Picture,” during the live telecast.

Hill and Keith each scored nominations from two videos while all of Twain’s nominations resulted from her video for “I’m Gonna Getcha Good!” Twain is nominated for video of the year, female video, hottest female video, fashion plate and concept video of the year.

Hill’s “Cry” received nominations for video of the year and female video of the year. She gained another nomination when “Cry” brought a video director of the year nod to the team of Mike Lipscombe. Hill’s “When the Lights Go Down” received nominations in the hottest female video and fashion plate video of the year categories.

Keith’s “Courtesy of the Red, White and Blue (The Angry American)” received three nominations — video of the year, male video and cocky video of the year. Keith’s “Who’s Your Daddy?” netted nominations for hottest male and concept video of the year.

Following closely with four nominations each are the Dixie Chicks , Martina McBride , Tim McGraw and Keith Urban . Kenny Chesney and Rascal Flatts each netted three nominations. Other multi-nominees included Alan Jackson , Terri Clark , Shelton, Montgomery Gentry and Steve Azar .

With Tuesday’s announcement, voting resumes at CMT.com through April 5 to determine the Flameworthy winners. Five finalists for video of the year will be announced at the beginning of the April 7 telecast. Voting in the video of the year category will continue throughout the show.

The CMT Flameworthy 2003 Video Music Awards — country music’s first and only video music awards and the only fan-voted country music awards show — will be hosted by Keith and actress Pamela Anderson. The show at the Gaylord Entertainment Center will feature live performances from Hill, Keith, Twain, Chesney, McGraw, Jackson and Rascal Flatts.

Vote Now
Complete List of Nominees

Calvin Gilbert has served as CMT.com’s managing editor since 2002. His background includes stints at the Nashville Banner, Radio & Records and Westwood One.