CMT Viewers Cast Over Three Million Votes to Determine the Winners for the CMT Flameworthy 2003 Video Music Awards

The hottest country superstars and their sizzling music videos were named the winners of the CMT Flameworthy 2003 Video Music Awards, country music’s only fan-voted awards show, telecast live April 7 on CMT: Country Music Television. Over three million votes were cast on, where fans could vote for their favorite videos in 11 categories. The final award of the evening, the Flameworthy video of the year, was determined by viewer votes during the live telecast.

Hosted by Pamela Anderson and Toby Keith , the evening was full of surprises and show-stopping performances by Shania Twain , Faith Hill , Kenny Chesney , Tim McGraw , Kid Rock and Sheryl Crow , Alan Jackson , Keith and Rascal Flatts . Surprise guests Alison Krauss & Union Station featuring Jerry Douglas joined Twain on stage for a remarkable performance of “Forever and For Always,” and Darryl Worley surprised the audience with his performance of his mega-hit “Have You Forgotten?,” a multiple-week No. 1 song that is stirring emotions throughout the country.

A tribute to the incredible Johnny Cash brought the live audience to its feet. Vince Gill , who hosted the moving tribute, presented the Special Achievement Award to Country Music Hall of Fame member June Carter Cash , accepting on behalf of her husband. A poignant video production honoring The Man in Black featured appearances by stars from across music genres including Bono, the Dixie Chicks and Rosanne Cash .

Complete list of winners