ACM Announces Industry Award Winners

WIVK in Knoxville, Tenn., has been named the Academy of Country Music’s radio station of the year. The radio category is one of the industry awards announced prior to the 38th annual ACM Awards show set for May 21 in Las Vegas. The ACM’s on-air personality of the year honor goes to the Tony & Kris in the Morning show on KSON in San Diego, Calif. The team of Tony Randall and Kris Rochester has been a San Diego radio fixture since 1993.

The ACM announcement also included its instrumentalist awards for musicians in several categories. They include: Glenn Worf (bass), Larry Franklin (fiddle), Lonnie Wilson (drums), Jay Dee Maness (steel guitar), John Willis (guitar), Matt Rollings (keyboards) and Mark Casstevens (specialty instruments).

The ACM’s nightclub of the year is the Wildhorse Saloon in Nashville. The Mandalay Bay Resort & Casino was named casino of the year. The Don Romeo talent buyer-promoter of the year award went to Louis Messina of the Messina Group.