June Carter Cash to Get Tex Ritter Award

The International Fan Club Organization will present its Tex Ritter Award to June Carter Cash during the annual IFCO Show, June 11, at Nashville’s Ryman Auditorium. In 1974, Cash’s mother, Maybelle Carter, was the first to win the award, which is reserved for those who make outstanding efforts “to perpetuate country music and its traditions.”

Cash, who recently won a Grammy for best traditional folk album, will also perform at the show.

Headlining the program will be the Bellamy Brothers and John Berry,. There will be additional performances by Lynn Anderson, David Ball, Jeff Carson, Eric Heatherly, Paul Overstreet, Michael Peterson, Blake Shelton, Marty Stuart and Wild Horses.

Journalist and music critic Robert K. Oermann will host the event.

Among the previous Tex Ritter Award winners are Ernest Tubb, Ralph Emery, Barbara Mandrell, Loretta Lynn, Charlie Daniels, Charley Pride, Faron Young and the Oak Ridge Boys.