The Wilkinsons, Terri Clark, Prairie Oyster and Shania Twain Lead Nominations For Canadian Country Music Awards

The Wilkinsons, the family country group from Trenton, Ontario, who burst onto the scene last year with their smash hit “26¢,” found themselves in heavy company when the nominees for the 1999 Canadian Country Music Awards were announced on Wednesday.

The group earned six nominations, as did Shania Twain, Terri Clark and Prairie Oyster. Other multiple nominees include Paul Brandt with five nominations, Stephanie Beaumont, Beverly Mahood and Shirley Myers with two nominations apiece.

Several U.S. artists earned nominations including four of the five nominees for Top Selling Album and Bryan White for his collaboration with Shania Twain on “From This Moment On.”

The final round of voting, with 1,700 members of the Canadian Country Music Association taking part, is taking place in the next few weeks, with the awards given to the winners on Monday Sept. 13 at Ottawa’s Civic Centre. The Canadian Country Music Awards show will be telecast on TNN, Wednesday, September 29 at 9 p.m. ET/PT.

All 11 awards presented on the show are chosen by the CCMA’s members, with two exceptions; Top Selling Album, which is based on sales figures in Canada, and the CMT Maple Leaf Foods Fans’ Choice Award.

The five nominees in the Fans’ Choice Award category are Julian Austin, Paul Brandt, Terri Clark, Prairie Oyster and Shania Twain.

The big newcomers in the nomination list are The Wilkinsons. Their debut album put Steve Wilkinson, his daughter Amanda (now 17) and son Tyler (15) in the spotlight in a big way. The trio’s “26¢” hit, which went to No. 1 on country charts in the United States as well as Canada, earned the group nominations for Single of the Year, SOCAN Song of the Year, and Video of the Year. The CD from which the song came, Nothing But Love, earned a nomination in the Album of the Year category. The Wilkinsons were also nominated, along with Lorrie Church, Beverley Mahood, Shirley Myers and Rick Tippe, for the Wrangler Rising Star Award. The trio was also nominated in the Group or Duo of the Year category.

Shania Twain, meanwhile, continued her record-breaking run of nominations, with six this year. With Single, Female Artist, Video and Song of the Year nominations in addition to her nomination in the Fans’ Choice section, she also earned a nod in the Collaboration of the Year category for her duet with Bryan White on “From This Moment On.” Her massive hit album, Come On Over, did not meet the time period for eligibility.

Terri Clark also earned six nominations in the Single, Album, and Video categories, as well as Female Artist of the Year, the Fans’ Choice category, and for Top Selling Album.

The veteran country group Prairie Oyster made a major comeback on the heels of their latest CD and the success of their hit “Canadian Sunrise.” The band secured nominations for Single and Album of the Year, SOCAN Song of the Year and Video of the Year, as well as Group or Duo of the Year. The band was also nominated in the Fans’ Choice category