Malo Joins Los Super Seven

Mavericks frontman Raul Malo will join a new lineup of Los Super Seven, a Latin supergroup that won a Grammy for its self-titled 1998 debut. Country artist Rick Trevino, part of the core roster, will return for the group’s second album, along with David Hidalgo and Cesar Rosas (both of Los Lobos) and Tejano artist Ruben Ramos. Original members Freddy Fender, Flaco Jimenez, Joe Ely and Joel Jose Guzman have left the group and will be replaced by Malo, Susanna Baca and Caetano Veloso. A new Los Super Seven album is due March 13 on Columbia/Legacy Records. Some live appearances are being scheduled to support the project.