Emmylou Harris, Alan Jackson Win Nashville Music Awards

Emmylou Harris was named Female Vocalist of the Year and Alan Jackson was named Male Vocalist of the Year in the sixth annual Nashville Music Awards. Winners will be recognized tonight (Nov. 14) during a private celebration at BMI. Among the 33 categories covering different musical styles, Alison Krauss’ Forget About It was honored as Country Album of the Year and Ricky Skaggs’ Ancient Tones was tapped as Bluegrass/Old Time Album of the Year. John Prine’s In Spite of Ourselves was Americana Album of the Year and June Carter Cash’s Grammy-winning Press On was named Folk Album of the Year. Video of the Year went to Brad Paisley’s “He Didn’t Have to Be.” Awards honored musical performances and releases from Oct. 1, 1998 to Dec. 31, 1999.