CMA Announces Radio Nominations

In addition to the artist nominations for the 37th annual CMA Awards, nominees were announced Tuesday (Aug. 26) for the CMA’s broadcast personality and radio station of the year.

The major market station of the year nominees are KEEY/Minneapolis, KILT/Houston, KNIX/Phoenix, WPOC/Baltimore and WQYK/Tampa, Fla. Large market nominees include KASE/Austin, Texas, WFMS/Indianapolis, Ind., WKDF/Nashville, WMIL/Milwaukee and WUBE/Cincinnati. Stations nominated in the medium market category are KFDI/Wichita, Kan., WGNA/Albany, N.Y., WIVK/Knoxville, Tenn., WKKO/Toledo, Ohio and WWGR/Fort Myers, Fla. In the small market division, the nominees are KAFF/Flagstaff, Ariz., KTTS/Springfield, Mo., WAKG/Danville, Va.,
WQXK/Youngstown, Ohio, and WUSY/Chattanooga, Tenn.

National broadcast personality of the year nominations went to Bob Kingsley (ABC Radio Networks), Ben and Brian (MJI Broadcasting) and Lia (Jones Radio Network).

Additionally, broadcast personality of the year nominations were announced in four market sizes.

&#149 Major market: Amy B. (KPLX/Dallas), Bob Delmont (WPOC/Baltimore), Michael J. (WPOC/Baltimore), Skip Mahaffey (WQYK/Tampa, Fla.) and Tim and Willy (KNIX/Phoenix)

&#149 Large market: Dale Carter and Mary McKenna (KFKF/Kansas City, Mo.), Mike and Morgan in the Morning (WQDR/Raleigh, N.C.), Vicki Murphy (WFMS/Indianapolis), Jim, Deb and Kevin (WFMS/Indianapolis) and the Jeff Roper Morning Show (WSOC/Charlotte, N.C.)

&#149 Medium market: Colleen Addair (WIVK/Knoxville, Tenn.), Valleri St. John (WWGR/Fort Myers, Fla.), the Cornbread Morning Show with Pat James (KFDI/Wichita, Kan.), the Scott Innes Cartoons Radio Show (WYNK/Baton Rouge, La.) and TJ, Gina and Craig (KXKT/Omaha, Neb.)

&#149 Small market: Bearman and Ken (WUSY/Chattanooga, Tenn.), the Chris and Hugh Morning Show (KAFF/Flagstaff, Ariz.), Dave and Dex (WUSY/Chattanooga, Tenn.), George and Tammy (WAXX/Eau Claire, Wis.) and Karl Shannon (WVLK/Lexington, Ky.)

Steve Azar, Jennifer Hanson, Buddy Jewell, Jimmy Wayne and Darryl Worley announced the broadcast finalists during a press conference at the Grand Ole Opry House. The winners will be recognized Nov. 5 during the CMA Awards show.