Cherry Bombs Album Set for August Release

The Cherry Bombs, a band featuring Rodney Crowell and Vince Gill, will release a long-awaited debut album on Aug. 7. Reuniting with Crowell and Gill as original members are keyboardist Tony Brown, guitarist Richard Bennett and steel guitarist Hank DeVito. New band members include three prominent session musicians — bassist Michael Rhodes, drummer Eddie Bayers and keyboardist John Hobbs. Formed in the late ’70s as Crowell’s road band, the Cherry Bombs never released an official album as a band. Brown is an executive at Universal South Records, which will be releasing the new project.