Los Lonely Boys Make Friends at Austin Music Awards

Los Lonely Boys were the big winners at Wednesday’s (March 17) Austin Music Awards in Austin, Texas. In addition to band of the year honors, the trio took home an album of the year win for its self-titled debut. The band members — brothers Henry, Jojo and Ringo Garza — shared the song of the year award for “Heaven.” Jojo Garza was also named Austin’s best bass player. Other award winners included Bob Schneider (musician of the year), Toni Price (female vocalist) and Scott Leger (songwriter and male vocalist). Leger is member of the band Wideawake. Winners in specific musical genres included the Kevin Fowler Band (country), Patty Griffin (folk) and Reckless Kelly (roots rock). This year’s Hall of Fame inductees include fiddler Johnny Gimble, keyboardist Ian McLagan, producer-musician Gurf Morlix and two bluesmen — Blind Lemon Jefferson and Leadbelly.