CMA Recognizes Wynonna With Honorary Award

Wynonna was given the Connie B.Gay Award by the Country Music Association’s Ed Benson on Saturday night (April 17), recognizing her dedication to promoting the CMA Music Festival and the CMA Awards. The CMA board of directors unanimously selected her for the honor. Trace Adkins, who serves on the board, also took part in the ceremony. “This is a pat on the back, but I’d be doing it anyway,” Wynonna said. “After 20 years, I’m just glad to have a seat at the table.” Past winners include Roy Acuff, Johnny Cash, Charlie Daniels, Martina McBride, Brad Paisley, Nashville mayor Bill Purcell, Tex Ritter and Trisha Yearwood.