Harris to Receive ASCAP’s Founders Award

Emmylou Harris will be presented ASCAP’s Founders Award during the performing rights organization’s 42nd annual country music awards banquet set for Nov. 8 at the Opryland Hotel in Nashville. The award honors songwriter members of ASCAP who have made an enduring artistic contribution. Previous recipients include Alan Jackson, Garth Brooks, Stevie Wonder, Smokey Robinson, Jerry Leiber & Mike Stoller, James Taylor and Steely Dan. The ASCAP country awards banquet is one of the major events leading up to this year’s CMA Awards show that takes place Nov. 9 in Nashville.