CMT Viewers to Choose Nominees for 2005 CMT Music Awards

First Round Nominees Announced, Online Voting Begins Wednesday (Feb. 16)

CMT viewers take control when they choose the finalists for the 2005 CMT Music Awards — country music’s only fan-voted awards show. On Wednesday (Feb. 16), CMT viewers can begin voting for their favorite videos at to determine the finalists, and later the winners, for the annual awards show. This year’s only country music awards televised from Nashville, the 2005 CMT Music Awards will premiere live on April 11 at 8 p.m. ET/PT. Joining host Jeff Foxworthy, the star-studded performance lineup will include Kenny Chesney, Alan Jackson, Toby Keith, Reba McEntire, Gretchen Wilson and Big & Rich. Additional performers will be announced soon.

During the first round of voting, fans will choose from eight nominees in each of the 2005 CMT Music Awards categories. The first round of voting ends March 10, when the votes will be tabulated and the field narrowed to four finalists in each category.

On March 16, CMT will announce the four finalists in each category except video of the year. Fans will be able to vote online at through April 8 to determine the CMT Music Awards winners in all categories except video of the year. The video of the year winner will be determined by viewers at during the live telecast of the awards show. All category winners will be announced April 11 on the live 2005 CMT Music Awards.

Videos that debuted on CMT between Feb. 15, 2004, and Jan. 31, 2005, are eligible for the 2005 CMT Music Awards. Clips of nominated videos can be viewed on the nominees and vote pages.

Get a complete list of the nominees in the 2005 CMT Music Awards.

Tickets for the 2005 CMT Music Awards at Nashville’s Gaylord Entertainment Center will be available Feb. 19 at all Ticketmaster outlets, by phone at 615-255-9600, and online at and