ACM Announces Early Award Winners

Musician and concert promoter Charlie Nagatani will be presented the Academy of Country Music’s Jim Reeves Memorial Award at Tuesday’s (May 17) ACM Awards show in Las Vegas. The award recognizes contributions leading to the international acceptance of country music. Since 1989, Nagatani has organized Country Gold, the first country music festival in Japan. Additionally, the ACM has announced winners of several honors to be presented prior to the awards show telecast on CBS. James Stroud, whose recent work includes projects with Toby Keith, Clint Black and Tracy Lawrence, was named producer of the year. In the broadcast categories, radio station of the year honors went to WIVK/Knoxville, Tenn., and the on-air personality prize went to Tim & Willy at KNIX/Phoenix. Musician of the year awards went to Glenn Worf (bass), Stuart Duncan (fiddle), Brent Mason (guitar), Lonnie Wilson (percussion/drums), Steve Nathan (piano/keyboards), Randy Scruggs (specialty instrument) and Dan Dugmore (steel guitar).