George Canyon Wins Big at Canadian Country Awards

George Canyon was the big winner at the 2005 Canadian Country Music Awards ceremony held Monday night (Sept. 12) at the Pengrowth Saddledome in Calgary, Alberta. In addition to winning the male artist and fans’ choice honors, Canyon’s original composition, “My Name,” co-written with Gordie Sampson, was selected single of the year and SOCAN song of the year. Paul Brandt won album of the year honors for This Time Around and a video of the year trophy for “Convoy.” Terri Clark picked up the female artist prize, and the Road Hammers were named group of the year. Amanda Wilkinson, best known for her work with her father and brother in the Wilkinsons, was named 2005’s rising star, marking her first award as a solo artist. The Corb Lund Band were named roots artist or group of the year, and Shania Twain’s Greatest Hits was recognized as the year’s top-selling album.