Lynyrd Skynyrd Among Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Inductees

Lynyrd Skynyd will join Black Sabbath, the Sex Pistols, Blondie and jazz legend Miles Davis as the latest inductees into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. Herb Alpert and Jerry Moss, who founded A&M records in 1962, will also receive a lifetime achievement award in the non-performer category during the March 13 induction ceremony at New York’s Waldorf-Astoria Hotel. Inductees into the Hall of Fame’s sidemen category will be announced at a later date. Although Lynyrd Skynyrd’s lineup changed substantially following a 1977 plane crash that claimed the lives of lead vocalist Ronnie Van Zant and guitarist Steve Gaines, the members being officially inducted include Van Zant, Gaines, Gary Rossington, Bob Burns, Ed King, Billy Powell, Artimus Pyle and the late Allen Collins and Leon Wilkeson.