First Round of Performers Announced for CMT Music Awards

List Includes Keith, Chesney, Rascal Flatts, Adkins, Wilson, Brooks & Dunn, Sugarland

CMT has announced a lineup that will rock the house at the 2006 CMT Music Awards. Premiering live on April 10 with host Jeff Foxworthy, music takes center stage with performances by Toby Keith, Kenny Chesney, Rascal Flatts, Trace Adkins, Gretchen Wilson, Brooks & Dunn and Sugarland.

CMT’s fifth annual awards show honors country music’s elite for the year’s most outstanding videos and is the genre’s only fan-voted awards. Tickets to the 2006 CMT Music Awards at the Curb Event Center at Belmont University in Nashville go on sale Saturday (March 4) at all Ticketmaster outlets, by phone at (615) 255-9600 and online at and

Fans can vote online to determine the finalists at through March 9. CMT will announce the four finalists in each category except video of the year on March 15. Fans can vote online at during the live telecast to determine the winner of video of the year.

Additional performers will be announced in the coming weeks.