T Bone Burnett to Release New Album and a Compilation

T Bone Burnett, who won a Grammy for producing the O Brother, Where Art Thou? soundtrack, is planning the release of his first album of original songs in 14 years and a two-CD compilation from his previous work as a solo artist and as a member of the Alpha Band. Burnett says the aim of the new album, The True False Identity, is to “erase the nonexistent line between comedy and tragedy.” It’s his first new solo album since 1992’s The Criminal Under My Own Hat. The 40 songs on the compilation, Twenty Twenty: The Essential T Bone Burnett, include unreleased tracks and material previously recorded for several labels, including Tacoma, Warner Bros., Columbia and Demon. Both of Burnett’s new projects will be issued May 23 by DMZ/Columbia/Legacy.