David Lee Roth Revamps Van Halen Songs for Bluegrass Album

An album of Van Halen songs — reconfigured in a bluegrass arrangement and approved by David Lee Roth — was released Tuesday (June 6) on CMH Records. Strummin’ With the Devil: The Southern Side of Van Halen features first-rate acoustic musicians John Jorgensen, Blue Highway, Larry Cordle, John Cowan, David Grisman, Mountain Heart and the Nashville Bluegrass Band, among others. Roth sings on only three of the tracks — “Jump” and two versions of “Jamie’s Cryin’.”