Radio Nominees Announced for CMA Awards

Country radio stations in four market sizes are finalists in the CMA’s 2006 station of the year awards. For major market, the nominees are: KKBQ/Houston; WIL/St. Louis; WQYK/Tampa, Fla., WUSN/Chicago and WXTU/Philadelphia. Large market: KASE/Austin, Texas; KVET/Austin, Texas; WFMS/Indianapolis; WMIL/Milwaukee and WUBE/Cincinnati. Medium market: KUZZ/Bakersfield, Calif.; KXKT/Omaha, Neb.; WBBS/Syracuse, N.Y.; WIVK/Knoxville, Tenn.; and WSSL/Greenville, S.C. Small market: KTTS/Branson, Mo.; WFYR/Peoria, Ill.; WGSQ/Cookeville, Tenn.; WXBM/Mobile, Ala.; and WYCT/Pensacola, Fla. The CMA has also announced its broadcast personality of the year nominees for all four divisions and the national broadcast personality category reflecting syndicated programs. The national finalists are: Country Countdown USA, Lon Helton (Westwood One); Danny Wright All Night, Danny Wright (Jones Radio Networks); and The Crook and Chase Countdown, Lorianne Crook and Charlie Chase (Jim Owens Entertainment). The radio winners will be acknowledged during the CMA Awards show scheduled for Nov. 6 in Nashville.