George Strait, Brooks & Dunn Are Top ACM Nominees

Nominations Announced at Early Morning Press Conference in Nashville

George Strait and Brooks & Dunn are the top contenders at the 42nd annual Academy of Country Music Awards. Strait rolls into the May awards show with eight total nominations, including mentions for his work as a record producer. In addition to Brooks & Dunn’s seven nominations, Dunn is up for vocal event of the year for “I Don’t Want To,” his collaboration with newcomer Ashley Monroe.

Kenny Chesney and Sugarland helped announce the nominations during a Monday morning (March 5) press conference at the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum in downtown Nashville. Also participating in the press conference was Hannah Storm of CBS’ The Early Show, which telecast the announcements live.

Strait and Brooks & Dunn are in the running for the most coveted honor — the entertainer of the year award. Other entertainer of the year nominees include Kenny Chesney, Tim McGraw and Rascal Flatts.

Strait’s other nominations include top male vocalist, and he received double nominations (as artist and producer) in the album of the year category for It Just Comes Natural and single of the year for “Give It Away.” Strait’s recording of “Give It Away” netted him another nomination in the song of the year category.” Give It Away” was written by Bill Anderson, Buddy Cannon and Jamey Johnson. Strait, who has previously won 15 ACM awards, is also up for video of the year for “Seashores of Old Mexico.”
Brooks & Dunn’s other nominations are for top vocal duo, video of the year (for “Hillbilly Deluxe”) and vocal event (for “Building Bridges” with Vince Gill and Sheryl Crow). Dunn and sidekick Kix Brooks also received additional nominations as the artists and co-producers of Hillbilly Deluxe, nominated for album of the year.

Other top nominees include Rascal Flatts, Carrie Underwood, Big & Rich, Vince Gill, Josh Turner and Gretchen Wilson.

This year’s ACM Awards show takes place May 15 at the MGM Grand in Las Vegas. The show will be telecast on CBS.

Here’s a complete list of this year’s ACM nominees:

Entertainer of the Year
Brooks & Dunn
Kenny Chesney
Tim McGraw
Rascal Flatts
George Strait

Top Male Vocalist
Kenny Chesney
Toby Keith
Brad Paisley
George Strait
Keith Urban

Top Female Vocalist
Sara Evans
Faith Hill
Miranda Lambert
Martina McBride
Carrie Underwood

Top Vocal Group
Diamond Rio
Emerson Drive
Little Big Town
Rascal Flatts

Top Vocal Duo
Big & Rich
Brooks & Dunn
Montgomery Gentry
The Wreckers

Top New Male Vocalist
Rodney Atkins
Craig Morgan
Chris Young

Top New Female Vocalist
Miranda Lambert
Kellie Pickler
Taylor Swift

Top New Duo or Vocal Group
Little Big Town
The Wreckers

Album of the Year
Hillbilly Deluxe, Brooks & Dunn
Producers: Tony Brown, Ronnie Dunn, Kix Brooks, Mark Wright, Tom Shapiro

It Just Comes Natural, George Strait
Producers: Tony Brown, George Strait

Me and My Gang, Rascal Flatts
Producers: Dann Huff, Rascal Flatts

Some Hearts, Carrie Underwood
Producers: Mark Bright, Dann Huff

These Days, Vince Gill
Producers: Vince Gill, John Hobbs, Justin Niebank

Single Record of the Year
“Before He Cheats,” Carrie Underwood
Producer: Mark Bright

“Give It Away,” George Strait
Producers: Tony Brown, George Strait

“I Loved Her First,” Heartland
Producer: Walt Aldridge

“What Hurts the Most,” Rascal Flatts
Producers: Dann Huff, Rascal Flatts

“Would You Go With Me,” Josh Turner
Producer: Frank Rogers

Song of the Year
“Amarillo Sky”
Artist: Jason Aldean
Writers: John Rich, Big Kenny, Rodney Clawson, Bart Pursley

“Before He Cheats”
Artist: Carrie Underwood
Writers: Chris Tompkins, Josh Kear

“Give It Away”
Artist: George Strait
Writers: Bill Anderson, Buddy Cannon, Jamey Johnson

“If You’re Going Through Hell (Before the Devil Even Knows)”
Artist: Rodney Atkins
Writers: Sam and Annie Tate, Dave Berg

“Would You Go With Me”
Artist: Josh Turner
Writers: Shawn Camp, John Scott Sherrill

Video of Year
“8th of November,” Big & Rich
Producer: Steve Lamar
Director: George Deaton, Robert Flanigan, Marc Oswald

“Amarillo Sky,” Jason Aldean
Producer: Brittany Hailes
Director: Wes Edwards

“Before He Cheats,” Carrie Underwood
Producer: Randy Brewer
Director: Roman White

“Hillbilly Deluxe,” Brooks & Dunn
Producer: Mark Kalbfeld
Director: Michael Salomon

“Seashores of Old Mexico,” George Strait
Producer: Shelli Jury
Director: Trey Fanjoy

Vocal Event
“Building Bridges,” Brooks & Dunn with Vince Gill & Sheryl Crow
Producers: Tony Brown, Ronnie Dunn, Kix Brooks

“I Don’t Want To,” Ashley Monroe and Ronnie Dunn
Producers: Mark Wright

“Me and God,” Josh Turner featuring Dr. Ralph Stanley and Marty Roe, Dana Williams and Gene Johnson of Diamond Rio
Producer: Frank Rogers

“Politically Uncorrect,” Gretchen Wilson featuring Merle Haggard
Producers: Gretchen Wilson, John Rich and Mark Wright

“That’s How They Do It In Dixie,” Hank Williams Jr. with Gretchen Wilson, Big & Rich and Van Zant
Producer: Doug Johnson for Curb Productions