Jeffrey Steele Rules at BMI Awards

Jeffrey Steele was named songwriter of the year and his song, “What Hurts the Most,” won song of the year honors at Tuesday night’s (Nov. 6) BMI Country Awards presentation in Nashville. Steele, who was also named BMI’s country songwriter of the year in 2003, co-wrote “What Hurts the Most” with Steve Robson. It was a No. 1 hit for Rascal Flatts. Steele won his latest songwriter of the year prize for composing “What Hurts the Most” and two other Rascal Flatts hits — “My Wish” and “Me and My Gang” — along with Steve Holy’s “Brand New Girlfriend” and Keith Anderson’s “Every Time I Hear Your Name.” Sony/ATV Music Publishing Nashville was named publisher of the year for the sixth consecutive time, and Willie Nelson was honored with the BMI Icon award during the black-tie dinner at the performing right organization’s offices on Music Row.