Earl Scruggs Earns Lifetime Achievement Grammy

Bluegrass pioneer Earl Scruggs will be among the recipients of the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Recording Academy. Burt Bacharach, the Band, Cab Calloway, Doris Day, Itzhak Perlman and Max Roach will also be honored. A special ceremony will be held on Feb. 9 in Los Angeles, the day before the Grammy Awards. In addition, music executives Clarence Avant, Jac Holzman and Willie Mitchell will be honored with the Academy’s Trustees Award. AMPEX Corporation (creator of the tape recorder) and engineering expert John Eargle will receive technical Grammy Awards.