Nominees Announced for 2008 CMT Music Awards

Brad Paisley and Sugarland Lead the Field in First-Round Voting

Music videos by Brad Paisley and Sugarland head the list of first-round nominees for the 2008 CMT Music Awards. The nominations were announced Tuesday (Feb. 5), and voting begins Tuesday at 5 p.m. ET at in the 13 categories of country music’s only fan-voted awards show.

Paisley’s “Online” received six first-round nominations, including three mentions in a newly-created category of supporting character of the year. Those nominated for their work in “Online” are actress Maureen McCormick and actors Jason Alexander and William Shatner. “Online” is also nominated in the comedy video, male video and overall video of the year divisions.

Sugarland followed closely with five nominations, with “Stay” under consideration for video of the year, duo video and tearjerker video (another new category). Their live delivery of the song on the 2007 CMT Music Awards netted a nomination as performance of the year, a new category recognizing a musical performance on a television show, series or variety special on a broadcast or major cable network. Sugarland also received a duo video nomination for “Everyday America.”

In addition to “Online” and “Stay,” other video of the year nominees include Carrie Underwood’s “Wasted,” Kenny Chesney’s “Don’t Blink,” LeAnn Rimes’ “Nothin’ Better to Do,” Rascal Flatts’ “Take Me There,” Reba McEntire and Kelly Clarkson’s “Because of You” and Taylor Swift’s “Our Song.”

The first round of voting runs Feb. 5-25 only at, where fans will select from the top nominees in each of the categories. On March 6, CMT will announce the four finalists in each of the 13 categories, except video of the year. Fans can then vote online at through April 11 to determine the winners. The final nominees for video of the year will be announced at the beginning of the live show on April 14, and fans can vote at throughout the live broadcast (Eastern and Central time zones only) to determine the night’s big winner.

The 2008 CMT Music Awards takes place in Nashville at The Curb Event Center at Belmont University.

See a complete list of nominees for the 2008 CMT Music Awards.

Calvin Gilbert has served as’s managing editor since 2002. His background includes stints at the Nashville Banner, Radio & Records and Westwood One.