Tony Rice’s Singer-Songwriter Collection Due in August

A new Tony Rice compilation, titled Night Flyer: The Singer-Songwriter Collection, will be released on Aug. 5 by Rounder Records. The 17-track album includes three previously unreleased songs — “Never Meant to Be,” “About Love” and a cover of Tom Waits’ “Pony.” Rice is one of the best-known guitarists in bluegrass music and won a Grammy in 1983 as a member of J.D. Crowe & the New South. A longtime fan of his music, Alison Krauss invited Rice to tour with her band, Union Station, in 2007. Other musicians featured on the album include Larry Atamanuik, Sam Bush, Vassar Clements, Jerry Douglas and Béla Fleck, among many others.