Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame Nominees Announced

Larry Gatlin, John Hiatt, Tony Joe White and the late Paul Davis and Johnny Horton are this year’s songwriter-artist nominees for inclusion in the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame. Additionally, 10 others are nominated in the songwriter category, it was announced Thursday (June 19). Of the nominees, one from the songwriter-artist category and two from the songwriter category will be elected for induction during ceremonies on Oct. 26 at the Renaissance Nashville Hotel. The nominees in the songwriter category are: Matraca Berg (“Strawberry Wine”), Paul Craft (“Hank Williams, You Wrote My Life”), Kye Fleming (“I Was Country When Country Wasn’t Cool”), Larry Henley (“The Wind Beneath My Wings”), the late John Jarrard (“Blue Clear Sky”), Bob Morrison (“You Decorated My Life”), Mark D. Sanders (“I Hope You Dance”), Tom Shapiro (“Ain’t Nothing ’Bout You”), John Scott Sherrill (“Would You Go With Me”) and Sharon Vaughn (“My Heroes Have Always Been Cowboys”).