Michael Cleveland & Flamekeeper Release Leavin’ Town

Leavin’ Town, the debut album by fiddler Michael Cleveland and his new band, Flamekeeper, was released Tuesday (July 29). Cleveland, who gained prominence in the bands of Rhonda Vincent and Dale Ann Bradley, is a five-time winner of the International Bluegrass Music Association’s fiddle player of the year award. Leavin’ Town is his fourth album for Rounder Records but the first to feature the lineup of John Mark Batchelor (banjo), Jesse Brock (mandolin), Todd Rakestraw (guitar, vocals) and Marshall Wilborn (bass, vocals). Cleveland also won the IBMA’s instrumental album of the year award for Let ’Er Go Boys! (2006), Live at the Ragged Edge (2004) and Flame Keeper (2002).