CMA Announces Winners of Broadcast Awards

Country radio stations in Florida and Tennessee are winners in two categories for the 2008 CMA Broadcast Awards, part of the CMA Awards. Additionally, Lon Helton, host of Westwood One’s CMT Country Countdown USA, will receive his fourth national broadcast personality of the year award. WQYK/Tampa, Fla., was named major market station of year, and Randy Price and Dave McKay are sharing a broadcast personality of the year award in the same market category for their afternoon show, Randy & Dave. Station of the year honors for medium market went to WIVK/Knoxville, Tenn. Personality of the year honors also went to WIVK’s Andy Ritchie, Alison West and Jimmy Holt, all featured on Andy & Alison and the Morning Crew. Other station of the year winners were WFMS/Indianapolis (large market) and WGSQ/Cookeville, Tenn. (small market). Large market personality honors went to WSIX/Nashville’s Gerry House, Mike Bohan, Duncan Stewart, Al Voecks and Richard Falklen for the Gerry House & the House Foundation morning show. The small market personality winners are Brian Gary and Todd Harding, hosts of The Good Morning Guys at KUAD/Fort Collins-Greeley, Colo. The winners will be recognized Nov. 12 during the 42nd annual CMA Awards airing live from Nashville on ABC.