Nickel Creek’s Sara Watkins Plans Solo Album in 2009

Nickel Creek’s Sara Watkins will release her first solo album on April 7 on Nonesuch Records. The album was produced by former Led Zeppelin bassist John Paul Jones, who toured with Nickel Creek in 2004. Guests include former bandmates Chris Thile and brother Sean Watkins, as well as Gillian Welch and Dave Rawlings, keyboardist Benmont Tench, drummer Pete Thomas and bluegrass the musicians Tim O’Brien, Chris Eldridge, Ronnie McCoury and Rayna Gellert. She wrote or co-wrote eight of the 14 tracks on the album. She also covers songs by Jimmie Rodgers, Jon Brion, Norman Blake and Tom Waits.