Rosanne Cash Announces Track Listing for New Covers Album

Rosanne Cash has announced the track listing of a new covers album, The List, due for release on Oct. 6 on Manhattan Records. The project was inspired by a list of 100 essential country songs her father, Johnny Cash, gave her in 1973. Selections include “Sea of Heartbreak” (with Bruce Springsteen), “Heartaches by the Number” (with Elvis Costello), “Long Black Veil” (with Wilco’s Jeff Tweedy), “Silver Wings” (with Rufus Wainwright) “Miss the Mississippi and You,” “Motherless Children,” “Take These Chains From My Heart,” “I’m Movin’ On,” “500 Miles,” “She’s Got You,” “Girl From the North Country” and “Bury Me Under the Weeping Willow.” It’s her first album since undergoing surgery in 2007 after being diagnosed with chiari I malformation, a rare but benign congenital malformation of the skull that affects the brain and spinal cord. She has fully recovered.