Dan Tyminski Band Leads Bluegrass Award Nominees

Dailey & Vincent Again Strong IBMA Contenders

The Dan Tyminski Band and several of its individual members copped the most nominations — nine in all — for the 20th annual International Bluegrass Music Awards show. Tyminski is the guitarist and vocalist for Alison Krauss’ Union Station band and was the singing voice of George Clooney in the movie, O Brother, Where Art Thou?

The final nominees were announced Thursday (Aug. 13) at the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum by Del McCoury and the Nashville Bluegrass Band’s Alan O’Bryant.

Dailey & Vincent, the duo that collectively and individually swept last year’s IBMAs — including winning entertainer of the year — is again up for that honor plus six others.

Other multiple-award contenders include comedian-actor-author Steve Martin and Michael Cleveland & Flamekeeper, each with six, and the Grascals, with five.

IBMA executive director Dan Hays also announced that the Lonesome Pine Fiddlers and the Dillards will be inducted as the 32nd and 33rd members of International Bluegrass Music Hall of Fame.

Kathy Mattea and the band Hot Rize will co-host the Oct. 1 awards show at Nashville’s Ryman Auditorium. Hot Rize was the IBMA’s first entertainer of the year winner.

Prior to the revelation of nominees, an all-star bluegrass band entertained the crowd of reporters, industry executives and artists. The band, which opened the ceremonies with “Goodbye Liza Jane,” featured Stuart Duncan (fiddle), Scott Vestal (banjo), Mike Bub (bass), Josh Williams (guitar) and Phil Ledbetter (Dobro). Next came the Jimmy Martin classic, “Sunny Side of the Mountain,” with Williams handling the vocals.

Mattea was on tour and unable to attend the press conference, but Hot Rize’s Tim O’Brien told the audience, “The roots [of bluegrass] grow stronger, and the limbs grow wider and broader.”

He added that two of bluegrass’ brightest newcomers, Sierra Hull and Sarah Jarosz, had won music scholarships — Hull to Berklee College of Music and Jarosz to the New England Conservatory.

The Lonesome Pine Fiddlers, Hays said, was formed in 1937 and became the first bluegrass band to be signed to RCA Records. Its living alumni include Bobby Osborne of the Osborne Brothers, Paul Williams and Melvin Goins.

The Dillards are most famous for having played the hillbilly family band, the Darlings, in six episodes of The Andy Griffith Show and are credited for widening the popularity of bluegrass in the ’60s and ’70s through other TV and film presences.

Distinguished achievement awards will go to two former members of Lester Flatt & Earl Scruggs’ Foggy Mountain Boys — Jody Rainwater and the late Hylo Brown — and to event promoter Pati Crooker, musicologist, author and radio personality Dick Spottswood and folklorist Joe Wilson, a former director of the National Council for the Traditional Arts.

Backed by the opening band, Dale Ann Bradley concluded the presentations with two songs: “Heaven” (accompanied on harmonies by Dailey & Vincent) and a fierce but thoroughly bluegrass cover of Tom Petty’s “I Won’t Back Down.”

Here is the complete list of nominees:

Entertainer of the Year
Dailey & Vincent
The Grascals
Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver
Del McCoury Band
Russell Moore & IIIrd Tyme Out
Dan Tyminski Band

Vocal Group
Blue Highway Dailey & Vincent
The Isaacs Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver
Russell Moore & IIIrd Tyme Out

Instrumental Group
Blue Highway
Michael Cleveland & Flamekeeper
Infamous Stringdusters Ricky Skaggs & Kentucky Thunder
Dan Tyminski Band

Male Vocalist
Jamie Dailey
Russell Moore
Danny Paisley
Junior Sisk
Dan Tyminski

Female Vocalist
Dale Ann Bradley
Sonya Isaacs
Claire Lynch
Alecia Nugent
Rhonda Vincent

Album of the Year
Blue Side of the Blue Ridge
Junior Sisk & Ramblers Choice

Brothers From Different Mothers
Dailey & Vincent

Keep On Walkin’
The Grascals

The Room Over Mine
Danny Paisley & the Southern Grass

Dan Tyminski

Song of the Year
 “Don’t Throw Mama’s Flowers Away”
Artist: Danny Paisley & the Southern Grass
Songwriters: Chris Stuart and Ivan Rosenberg

“Iron & Diamonds”
Artist: the Gibson Brothers
Songwriters: Leigh and Eric Gibson

“Leaving Baker County”
Artist: Junior Sisk & Ramblers Choice
Songwriters: Tom T. and Dixie Hall

Artist: Del McCoury Band
Songwriter: John Herald

Artist: Dan Tyminski,
Songwriter: Patrick McDougal

Recorded Event
“After the Fire Is Gone”
Bobby Osborne, Rhonda Vincent and Darrin Vincent

“The Crow”
Steve Martin With Tony Trischka

“Daddy Played the Banjo”
Steve Martin With Tim O’Brien and Earl Scruggs

“Proud to Be a Daughter of Bluegrass”
Daughters of Bluegrass, featuring Dale Ann Bradley, Heather Berry, Lisa Martin, Gloria Belle, Sierra Hull, Rhonda Vincent, Lisa Ray, Linda Lay, Sally Jones, Jeanie Stanley, Carol Lee Cooper, Sonya Isaacs, Becky Isaacs Bowman, Michelle Nixon, Jeanette Williams, Sophie Haislip, Louise Tomberlain, Mindy Rakestraw, Lizzy Long, Frances Mooney, Lorraine Jordan, Annette Kelley, Lily Lieux, Dixie Hall, Judi Marshall, Melissa Lawrence, Beth Lawrence, Rebecca Frazier, Donica Christensen, Lisa Manning and Jenni Lyn Gardner

“Sad Wind Sighs”
The Grascals With Vince Gill

Gospel Recorded Performance
“Darkness Wept”
Lonesome River Band

“On the Other Side”
Dailey & Vincent

“What a Journey”
Paul Williams & the Victory Trio

“When the Last of Our Days Shall Come”
Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver

“Who’ll Sing for Me?”
Audie Blaylock & Redline

Instrumental Recorded Performance
“Angeline the Baker”
Rob Ickes and Andy Leftwich

“The Crow”
Steve Martin

“Don’t Tread on Me”
Kristin Scott Benson

“Jerusalem Ridge”
Michael Cleveland & Flamekeeper

“Struttin’ to Ferrum”
Lonesome River Band

Emerging Artist
Sierra Hull & Highway 111
Danny Paisley & the Southern Grass
Junior Sisk & Rambler’s Choice
Yhe SteelDrivers Josh Williams Band

Instrumental Performers

Kristin Scott Benson
J.D. Crowe
Steve Martin
Sammy Shelor
Ron Stewart

Barry Bales
Mike Bub
Missy Raines
Darrin Vincent
Marshall Wilborn

Hunter Berry
Jason Carter
Michael Cleveland
Stuart Duncan
Ron Stewart

Mike Auldridge
Jerry Douglas
Andy Hall
Rob Ickes
Randy Kohrs
Phil Leadbetter

Jim Hurst
Tony Rice
Kenny Smith
Bryan Sutton
Josh Williams

Jesse Brock
Sam Bush
Sierra Hull
Ronnie McCoury
Adam Steffey

Bluegrass Event
Grey Fox Bluegrass Festival (Oak Hill, N.Y.)
Tri-State Bluegrass Festival (Kendallville, Ind.)
World Cultural Fusion Festival (Kawaguchi City, Japan)

Bluegrass Broadcaster
Kyle Cantrell (Sirius XM Satellite Radio, Nashville)
Katy Daly (HD Radio WAMU-FM and bluegrasscountry.org; Washington, D.C.)
Ned Luberecki (Sirius XM Satellite Radio; Nashville)

Print Media Person
Tom Adams (Banjo Newsletter)
Dan Miller (Flatpicking Guitar)
Roger Siminoff (Siminoff’s Luthiers Glossary, Banjo Newsletter and Bluegrass Breakdown)

Liner Notes for Recorded Project
 A Tribute to Fiddlin’ Paul Warren, Johnny Warren and Charlie Cushman
Writers: Charlie Cushman, Marty Stuart, Eddie Stubbs and Johnny Warren

Old-Time Pickin’: A Clawhammer Banjo Collection, Ralph Stanley
Writer: Eddie Dean

The Crow, Steve Martin
Writer: Steve Martin

Best Graphic Design for Recorded Project
The Crow, Steve Martin
Designers: G. Carr and Salli Ratts

Uncle Charlie Osborne: The June Appal Recordings, Uncle Charlie Osborne
Designer: Stumptown Printers

Inside Out, Missy Raines & the New Hip
Designer: Loren Witcher

Hall of Honor Inductees
The Lonesome Pine Fiddlers
The Dillards

Distinguished Achievement Award Recipients
Hylo Brown
Pati Crooker
Jody Rainwater
Dick Spottswood
Joe Wilson

Edward Morris is a veteran of country music journalism. He lives in Nashville, Tennessee, and is a frequent contributor to CMT.com.