Robert Plant Plans Summer Tour With Nashville Musicians

Robert Plant will be accompanied by several Nashville-based musicians during a 12-city North American tour to preview music from his upcoming Rounder album. The album title has not been finalized, but it’s his first release since collaborating with Alison Krauss on Raising Sand in 2007. Calling the musicians for his new album and tour the Band of Joy, the players include vocalist Patty Griffin, multi-instrumentalist Darrell Scott, bassist Byron House and drummer Marco Giovino. The band also includes guitarist Buddy Miller, who co-produced the album. The first leg of the tour begins July 13 in Memphis, Tenn., and will visit 10 other cities before closing July 31 in Miami. Krauss plans to tour this summer with her band, Union Station, to support the album they’re currently recording. Plant and Krauss do not plan to record or tour together during the coming year, although Plant says, “Oh, yes, Alison and I get together quite often … and sometimes we dance.”