Covington, Fowler, Dickerson Follow Rascal Flatts to Disney Music Group

American Idol finalist Bucky Covington and singer-songwriters Kevin Fowler and Tyler Dickerson will join Rascal Flatts in moving from Lyric Street Records to other imprints within the label’s parent company, Disney Music Group. The action follows Disney’s announcement on Wednesday (April 14) to close the Nashville-based Lyric Street. However, three of the label’s acts — Sarah Buxton, Love and Theft (a trio) and the Parks (a father-son duo) — have been dropped by Disney as part of Lyric Street’s closure. Buxton’s debut album was released in February. Fowler is a mainstay of the Texas music scene and Dickerson is a 16-year-old newcomer who will be opening shows during Brooks & Dunn’s upcoming farewell tour. Lyric Street launched in 1997 with a massive promotional push from Disney for the label’s first signing, SHeDAISY. However, after the release of the debut single, “Prayin’ for Daylight,” in 2000, Rascal Flatts quickly became Lyric Street’s flagship act. In a statement released by Rascal Flatts, the trio said, “Although we are saddened for the people at Lyric Street whom we have worked so closely with over the last 10 years, we are still very much excited about the new album we are currently making and bringing that new music to our fans.”