Ty Herndon’s Journey On Leads Independent Releases

Ty Herndon released a country-tinged inspirational album, Journey On (FUNL), on Tuesday (June 8). Herndon, who scored three No. 1 country singles in the ’90s, co-wrote every song on the album, including “When We Fly,” which won a Dove Award in April in the bluegrass recorded song category. The title track is being released as a single to Christian and country radio. Other new album releases include Lee Brice’s Love Like Crazy (Curb), Cadillac Sky’s Letters in the Deep (Dualtone), the Farewell Drifters’ Yellow Tag Mondays (Heart Squeeze/Thirty Tigers), Junior Sisk & Rambler’s Choice’s Heartaches and Dreams (Rebel) and Joe Whyte’s When the Day Breaks (self-released). In addition, Twistable Turnable Man: A Musical Tribute to the Songs of Shel Silverstein (Sugar Hill) features new recordings of Silverstein songs by Bobby Bare, Kris Kristofferson, My Morning Jacket, Nanci Griffith, Ray Price, John Prine, Todd Snider and Lucinda Williams, among others.