Trace Adkins’ Former Label Releasing 28-Song Greatest Hits Package

Trace Adkins’ former record label will release a two-CD compilation, The Definitive Greatest Hits: Til the Last Shot’s Fired, on Oct. 12. The 28-track collection from Capitol Nashville/EMI follows his career with the label from his 1996 debut single, “There’s a Girl in Texas,” through 2009’s “All I Ask for Anymore.” It features his three No. 1 singles — “You’re Gonna Miss This,” “(This Ain’t No) Thinkin’ Thing” and “Ladies Love Country Boys” — and other hits, including “The Rest of Mine,” “I’m Tryin’,” “Then They Do,” “Hot Mama,” “Songs About Me” and “Honky Tonk Badonkadonk.” In January, Adkins announced plans to move from Capitol to Show Dog-Universal Music, a company headed by Toby Keith. His first project for the label, Cowboy’s Back in Town, was released on Aug. 17 and debuted at the top of Billboard’s country albums chart.