Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame Reveals Inductees

Songwriters Pat Alger, Steve Cropper, Paul Davis and Stephen Foster have been named this year’s inductees into the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame. The induction ceremony will take place on Oct. 17 in Nashville. Alger and Cropper will be inducted in the songwriter category. Davis will enter in the songwriter-artist category, and Foster will be honored with a special induction as America’s first professional songwriter. Alger’s songwriting credits include “The Thunder Rolls” and “Unanswered Prayers” (Garth Brooks) and “Small Town Saturday Night” (Hal Ketchum). Cropper is known for “(Sittin’ On) The Dock of the Bay” (Otis Redding) and “In the Midnight Hour” (Wilson Pickett). Davis, who died in 2008, wrote and sang hits such as “I Go Crazy” and “Cool Night.” His writing credits include “Back in Your Arms Again” (Lorrie Morgan), “Bop” (Dan Seals) and “Love Me Like You Used To” (Tanya Tucker). Foster, who lived during the 1800s, is remembered for Civil War-era compositions like “Camptown Races” and “Oh! Susanna.”