Lady Antebellum’s Hillary Scott Claims SESAC Songwriter, Song of the Year Honors

Jim Lauderdale Honored With Group's Inspiration Award

Hillary Scott — the lone lady in Lady Antebellum — was crowned songwriter of the year Monday (Nov. 8) at the SESAC Nashville Music Awards ceremony held at the performing rights organization’s headquarters on Music Row.

It was a gala evening of cocktails, dinner, musical performances and chatter attended by approximately 400 singers, songwriters, publishers and other entertainment industry figures.

Besides copping the overall top songwriter title, Scott also won separate trophies for her part in writing the Lady Antebellum hits “Need You Now,” “Run to You” and “Our Kind of Love.”

In keeping with the trio’s high profile, Lady Antebellum opened the ceremony by singing its wildly popular “Need You Now.” Many in the crowd were soon swaying in their seats and singing along.

Not surprisingly, “Need You Now” took song of the year honors, and one of its publishers — EMI Foray Music — triumphed as publisher of the year.

Multi-talented Jim Lauderdale — a longtime member of the organization — was presented SESAC’s newly-minted Inspiration Award in recognition of his “limitless versatility” and “genre-defying music.” Musical icons Elvis Costello and Ralph Stanley, both of whom have worked closely and profitably with Lauderdale, sent their congratulations via video.

Guitarist Buddy Miller and bassist Bryon House serenaded the obviously-pleased recipient with a suitably doleful rendition of his “The King of Broken Hearts.” Miller thanked Lauderdale for helping him get a foothold in the music industry.

The other musical standout of the evening was troubadour Ray Wylie Hubbard’s spirited performance of “Drunken Poet’s Dream,” a paean to dissolute slackerdom he co-wrote with Hayes Carll. For the duration of his singing, the elegant, tent-covered dining room became a rowdy Texas roadhouse.

View photos from the SESAC Awards.

Here is the list of winners at the 2010 SESAC Awards:

Songwriter of the Year: Hillary Scott

Song of the Year: “Need You Now”

Publisher of the Year: EMI Foray Music

Inspiration Award: Jim Lauderdale

Country Performance Activity Awards

“Need You Now”
Songwriter: Hillary Scott

“American Honey” Songwriter: Cary Barlowe

“’Til Summer Comes Around” Songwriter: Monty Powell

“I Gotta Get to You”
Songwriters: Blaine Larsen and Jim Lauderdale

“Fearless” Publisher: Sony/ATV Timber Publishing

“Our Kind of Love”
Songwriter: Hillary Scott

Songwriter: Jim Lauderdale

“Beer on the Table” Songwriter: Ken Johnson

“Today” Songwriter: Brice Long

“Turning Home” Publisher: Gravitron Music

“Outside My Window” Songwriters: Gary Burr and Victoria Shaw

“You Belong With Me” Publisher: Potting Shed Music/Barbara Orbison World Publishing

“I Run to You”
Songwriter: Hillary Scott

“Kiss a Girl” Songwriter: Monty Powell

“Sweet Thing” Songwriter: Monty Powell

“One in Every Crowd”
Songwriter: Kim Tribble

“White Horse” Publisher: Sony/ATV Timber Publishing

Americana Performance Activity Awards

Beth Nielsen Chapman
For her contribution to the album A Crooked Road
Recorded by Darrell Scott

Jim Lauderdale
For his contribution to the album Patchwork River
Recorded by Jim Lauderdale

Kevin Welch, Dustin Welch and Claudia Scott
For their contribution to the album A Patch of Blue Sky
Recorded by Kevin Welch

Elizabeth Cook and Jerry Salley
For their contribution to the album Welder
Recorded by Elizabeth Cook

Ray Wylie Hubbard and Hayes Carll
For their contribution to the album A. Enlightenment B. Endarkenment (Hint: There Is No C)
Recorded by Ray Wylie Hubbard

Allison Moorer For her contribution to the album Crows
Recorded by Allison Moorer

Bob Dylan For his contribution to the album The List
Recorded by Rosanne Cash

Scott Avett, Seth Avett and Bob Crawford
For their contribution to the album I and Love and You
Recorded by the Avett Brothers

Bonnie Bramlett
For her contribution to the album The Blue Ridge Rangers: Rides Again
Recorded by John Fogerty

Fred Eaglesmith
For his contribution to the album Not That Lucky
Recorded by Two Tons of Steel, published by Critter City Music

Nanci Griffith For her contribution to the album James
Recorded by Red Molly

Edward Morris is a veteran of country music journalism. He lives in Nashville, Tennessee, and is a frequent contributor to