Garth Brooks Tapped for Songwriters Hall of Fame

Garth Brooks, John Bettis and Allen Toussaint are among this year’s inductees into the Songwriters Hall of Fame, it was announced Tuesday (Feb. 22). Although Brooks is best known as a performer, his songwriting credits include his No. 1 hits “If Tomorrow Never Comes,” “The Thunder Rolls” and “Unanswered Prayers,” along with “We Shall Be Free.” Bettis’ country songwriting credits include No. 1 singles such as George Strait’s “Heartland” and Barbara Mandrell’s “One of a Kind Pair of Fools” and pop hits such as Madonna’s “Crazy for You,” Michael Jackson’s “Human Nature” and the Pointer Sisters’ “Slow Hand.” A mainstay of the New Orleans music scene, Toussaint wrote Glen Campbell’s No. 1 hit, “Southern Nights,” and other classics, including Lee Dorsey’s “Workin’ in the Coal Mine” and LaBelle’s “Lady Marmalade.” This year’s other inductees are Leon Russell and the songwriting team of Billy Steinberg and Tom Kelly. The 42nd annual Songwriters Hall of Fame induction and awards dinner is scheduled for June 16 in New York City.